Collection: The Witcher book series by Andrzej Sapkowski

Andrzej Sapkowski, born on June 21, 1948, in Łódź, Poland, is the celebrated author of "The Witcher" series, a collection of fantasy novels and short stories that have captivated a global audience. The series began with short stories that Sapkowski wrote for Polish fantasy magazines in the 1980s, which later evolved into several full-length novels. The first novel, Blood of Elves, was published in 1994.

The series centres on the character Geralt of Rivia, a Witcher—a genetically modified monster hunter with supernatural abilities. Geralt's complex world is fraught with moral ambiguities, exploring themes of destiny, the impact of past choices, and the struggle to maintain one's humanity in a brutal and prejudiced world. The narrative weaves a rich tapestry of medieval settings, Slavic mythology, and high-stakes political intrigue, all while delving into the personal trials of its characters.

Sapkowski's The Witcher series includes the main novels and a couple of short story collections that establish the universe and its lore. Notable titles include The Last Wish and Sword of Destiny, which introduce many of the characters and themes expanded upon in the novels. The main saga continues through Time of Contempt, Baptism of Fire, The Tower of Swallows, and culminates in The Lady of the Lake.

The series has achieved widespread popularity and critical acclaim, leading to various adaptations, including a successful video game franchise, a graphic novel series, and a television series adaptation by Netflix, which has introduced The Witcher to an even broader audience.

Through our bookstore, fans of epic fantasy books and intricate storytelling can explore the fascinating world of The Witcher, experiencing the thrilling adventures of Geralt of Rivia and the richly imagined land in which he lives. Andrzej Sapkowski's works promise to transport readers into a realm where myth, magic, and morality intersect in profound and captivating ways.

Reading order for The Witcher

The Witcher series by Andrzej Sapkowski consists of a mixture of short stories and novels that build the saga of Geralt of Rivia and the world around him. For the best experience, it's generally recommended to start with the short stories, which introduce the characters and the setting, and then proceed to the main novels. Here’s the reading order based on the internal chronology and narrative development:

  1. The Last Wish (Short Story Collection)
    This collection introduces Geralt and many of the central themes and characters of the series. It's a foundational entry point into the world of The Witcher.

  2. Sword of Destiny (Short Story Collection)
    This second collection continues to develop the storylines introduced in "The Last Wish" and leads directly into the events of the first full-length novel.

  3. Blood of Elves (Novel)
    This is the first novel in the series and picks up where "Sword of Destiny" leaves off, diving deeper into the characters and the larger political and magical conflicts of the world.

  4. Time of Contempt (Novel)
    The second novel, which continues to develop the escalating conflict and the stakes for Geralt and his companions.

  5. Baptism of Fire (Novel)
    The third novel, following Geralt as he continues his quest amid the backdrop of a war-torn continent.

  6. The Tower of the Swallow (Novel)
    The fourth novel, advancing the journeys and challenges of the key characters as they face their destinies.

  7. The Lady of the Lake (Novel)
    The fifth and originally final novel of the series, concluding the main storyline of Geralt and his close allies.

  8. Season of Storms (Novel)
    A standalone novel, technically a prequel set around the events of "The Last Wish." It was published after "The Lady of the Lake" and is best read last as it contains references and an epilogue that assumes familiarity with the entire series.

This order follows the story as Sapkowski intended, ensuring that the development of characters and the overarching plot are revealed in a coherent and increasingly engaging manner.